1. AUDIO: OHM Dedication Series #4 – Mr. Beatnick presents Sun Ra (Free Download).

    If you find earth boring, this is for you. After a summer hiatus, One Handed Music ‘s excellent “Dedication Series” of tribute mixes returns with a bang – or should we say a cosmic big bang? – with UK producer Mr. Beatnick ‘s hour-long salute to the sounds of Sun Ra . Yup, to say the least, it’s a daunting endeavor given the endless scope of Sonny Blount’s repertoire – something Beatnick addresses in his accompanying notes.

    Mr. Beatnick:

    Struck by the enormity of the cosmic task at hand, I ended up with snapshots from a range of Ra’s work. You have the ballads, the standards, the poetry and the freak-outs all balanced in harmony, just as it was in a typical Arkestra performance, darkness counterpointed with bursts of bright frenetic energy. A lot of focus is on the 70s, partly cause that was a prolific and funky time for the band, partly just cause it’s my favourite period. I wish I could have made it 12 hours long and got in all the tracks I wanted to, and the mix wouldn’t have been possible without Kirk DeGiorgio and Max Cole who put me on to a ton of these tracks, so this is dedicated to them with astral thanks. There are other worlds they have not told you of, that wish to speak to you.

    Hit the “Download” button below and let the astral traveling commence!

    1. Discipline Intro
    2. Outer Spaceways Incorporated
    3. Love In Outer Space
    4. Somebody Else’s World
    5. Mayan Temple
    6. The Antique Blacks
    7. Island In The Sun
    8. There Is Change In The Air
    9. Night Of The Purple Moon
    10. Lanquidity
    11. Space Is The Place
    12. Nuclear War
    13. Journey Onwards
    14. The Cosmic Exploror
    15. UFO
    16. Stargazers
    17. God Is More Than Love Can Ever Be
    18. Strange Worlds
    19. Where There Is No Sun Outro

Follow The Leaders.