1. Check Out Onra & Lexis’ ’90s R&B Mixtravaganza “Throw ‘Em Up” (AUDIO).


    It’s a new year but ’90s nostalgia refuses to dissipate. With their new collaborative mix, “Throw ‘Em Up,” Paris-based production/DJ sensation Onra and Music Is My Sanctuary founder Lexis present a plethora of ’90s R&B classics from the days of Carhartt, Cristal, and Bill Clinton. Many of the decade’s big names and one-hit wonder types are represented. But if you’re curious as to how Onra and Lexis arrived at their tracklist (below) peep their self-imposed “rules” (also below) as you listen and download.

    01. Brandy – I Wanna Be Down Feat. MC Lyte, Queen Latifah, Yoyo
    02. Chanté Moore – This Time (Allstar Club Mix)
    03. Intro – Funny How Time Flies
    04. London Jones – Joy
    05. Miss Jones – Don’t Front
    06. Keith Sweat – Twisted
    07. Monifah – I Miss You Feat. Heavy D
    08. Immature – We Got It (Marley Marl Remix)
    09. Horace Brown – Taste Your Love
    10. Alphonzo – Just The Way
    11. Sista – Brand New (Mr. Dalvins Ferran Mix)
    12. New Edition – Change Your Mind
    13. Aaron Hall – Curiosity
    14. Blackstreet – This Is How We Roll
    15. Devante – Gin & Juice
    16. TLC – Creep
    17. Groove Theory – It’s Alright
    18. Mary J. Blige – Everyday It Rains
    19. Usher – Think Of You
    20. Jodeci – Bring on da’ funk
    21. SWV – You’re the One
    22. Aaliyah – Are You Ready?
    23. Soul For Real – Candy Rain
    24. Yvette Michelle – Everyday and every night
    25. Kreuz – Party All Night
    26. R.Kelly – Thank God It’s Friday
    27. Zhane – Vibe
    28. Sweet Sable – For Old Time’s Sake

    From Music Is My Sanctuary:

    So, the “rules” they gave themselves were simple: 1) The mix begins at the point when New Jack [Swing] ended. 2) The mix finishes around ’96 when a producer named Tim Mosley completely changed the R&B landscape. (That will be Vol. 2) 3) MC’s featuring on R&B tracks were ok, but not the other way around. 4) Only one selection per artist (that was tough).

    Download it, HERE.

  2. You might wanna peep...



    1. Mike Check

      Go to the host site and right click on the download link, choose ‘save as’. If you click on the download link, it opens a player (not sure why it’s says download on the link!).

    2. BLT

      Great mix. Many great memories. Still listening to quite a few of these to this day. Whenever I see Onra’s name on something I know it will be my thing. One error on the track listing: Track 12 is by Mint Condition; not New Edition.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>